Yesterday MTN Uganda unveiled the nomination list of the third MTN UG Hip Hop Awards, in collaboration with The Tribe UG and other stakeholders. The schedule of the awards ceremony switched last year and thus the awards ceremonies were moved up this year.

To vote your favourite artist(s) see the full list below:

Male Rapper of the Year

  • Mun*G (1A)
  • Fik Fameica (1B)
  • Fefe Bussi (1C)
  • JK Lubanto (1D)
  • Jim Nola MC (1E)

Female Rapper of the Year

  • MC Yallah(2A )
  • Recho Rey (2B)
  • Tushi Polo (2C)
  • Fasie (2D)
  • Race T (2E)

Album of the Year

  • oMUNGi Attibwa (3A) – Mun*G
  • On My Own (3B) – J-Wats
  • African Reality (3C) -AJO
  • Affropucino (3D) – Blixxack
  • Labongo & Gipir (3E) – Judas Rap Knowledge

Song of the year

  • Yenze Aliko (4A) – Flex D’Paper
  • Terikuzikiza (4B) – Recho Rey
  • Iddi Aimin Dada (4C) – Fefe Bussi
  • Firimu (4D) – JK Lubanto
  • Wubila Hater (4E) – KSL

Producer of the Year

  • Mio Made (5A)
  • Dagg Mizzo (5B)
  • Baru (5C)
  • Nase Avatar (5D)
  • Yung Jey Basalesale (5E)

Collaboration of the Year

  • Paper (6A) – Navio, Ice Prince, The Mith
  • Red Cypher (6B) – Josh SB, Ginsu, Ruyonga, Barna, Wake & DJ Stef
  • Holla Remix (6C) – J-Wats, Pryce Teeba, Flex D’Paper, DelBoy, Play01, Byg Ben
  • Emisana N’Ekiro (6D) – Blixxack & Tucker HD
  • Gangasta (6E) – DJ Crim, T-Bro & Lyrical G

Inspirational song of the year

  • Believe (7A) – Emmix
  • Brokeness (7B) – Jesse10s
  • Ngenze (7C) – Bawanguzi Of Souls
  • Press On (7D) – Barna
  • Life is Beautiful (7E) – Lyrical Mycheal & Anthony Faulkner

Video of the year

  • Paper (8A) – Navio, Ice Prince & The Mith
  • Firimu (8B) – JK Lubanto
  • Sconto (8C) – Fik Fameica
  • Terikuzikiza (8D) – Recho Rey
  • Iddi Amin Dada (8E) – Fefe Bussi

Lyricist of the year

  • AJO (9A) – Transcend
  • St. Nellysade (9B) – Rap Up 2017
  • Blixxack (9C) – The Proem
  • Recho Rey (9D) – Terikuzikiza
  • Tushi Polo (9E) – Ke’Kaseera

Rookie of the year

  • Mootownoh (10A)
  • DelBoy (10B)
  • Keinoh (10C)
  • Recho Rey (10D)
  • Tushi Polo (10E)

Sweet 16 (Verse of the year)

  • Slavery (11A) – Suspekt
  • Paper (11B) – The Mith
  • Mpambana (11C) – MC Yallah
  • The Proem (11D) – Blixxack
  • Snapbacks (11E) – KSL

Mixtape of The year

  • Kingdome Come (12A) – Dagg Mizzo
  • Broken Master Piece (12B) – A1 Fresh
  • The Intro (12C) – Larry
  • Trap House Memoirs (12D) -Sliq Teq
  • November Came Late (12E) – Ledra & MAFB

Deejay of the Year

  • Deejay Crim (13A)
  • Tha DropOut (13B)
  • DJ Slaughter Elly (13C)
  • Deejay Lolah (13D)

Media Personality of the Year

  • The Mith & DJ Crim (14A) – Double Trouble (Urban TV)
  • Toobi S.M.O.L.Z (14B) – Radio King 90.2FM
  • Byg Kahuna (14C) – Hot 100
  • Meester Deejay & Slaughter Elly (14D) – SNMS (Radio City)
  • Calvin Da Entertainer (14E) – Jam 101/Horizon Vibe (UBC TV)

Rap Fusion of the Year

  • Nielewe (15A) – Navio, Vanessa Mdee
  • Tubikole (15B) – Fik Fameica & Vinka
  • Karamu (15C) – Amani Amaniga
  • Habiba (15D) – St. Nellysade & AB Kale
  • Gukubila (15E) – Lyrical Mychael

Diaspora Act of the Year

  • Blixxack (16A)
  • Jesse 10S (16B)
  • L.I (16C)
  • Kleo Namiiro (16D)

Western Rapper of the Year

  • Amani Amaniga (17A)
  • Crazie Wispa (17B)
  • T-Bro The King Kiga (17C)
  • Sagio Mhza (17D)
  • Xamion’t (17E)

Northern Rapper of The Year

  • Gbaraspoken Emcee (18A)
  • O.P.U KobokoBoy (18B)
  • Toobi S.M.O.L.Z (18C)
  • Ken Lee (18D)
  • Judas Rapknowledge (18E)

Central Rapper of the year

  • JK Lubanto (19A)
  • Fefe Bussi (19B)
  • Jim Nola MC (19C)
  • Gravity Omutujju (19D)
  • Recho Rey (19E)

Eastern Rapper of the year

  • Leumas Owabajaja (20A)
  • HID 16TH (20B)
  • Gibbon MC (20C)
  • MamRe Snares (20D)

So how do I vote?

  • To Vote SMS; UGHHA<space> Artist Codeto 7197 e.g “UGHHA 1A”


Every Monday, NuveyLive's  free weekly newsletter will give you perspective on the latest moves in the business of UG Hip Hop. Sign up today to stay ahead:

Support NuveyLive

Donate to NuveyLive today to enable the platform to keep bringing the quality content you like. NuveyLive is an independent magazine for artistes and creatives telling Ugandan Hip Hop stories and beyond, tech and merchandise stories narratively.

Follow this link to contribute [ Yes I want to support]  or Buy any of the products in our store.

Written by


Founder I am Ayella NuveySHAWN. I love music, I write a lot about Ugandan Hip hop. I am opinionated. I Content Create, I teach , write, love ,invest, I make music, I manage talent and I am a poet.