UG Hip Hop Awards 2023 Winners Full list: Babaluku receives honorary Lifetime Achievement Award

UG Hip Hop Awards 2023 Winners Full list: Babaluku receives honorary Lifetime Achievement Award

Read Time:3 Minute, 45 Seconds

On 23rd June the Ugandan Hip Hop community and the rest of the music industry was hyped to the 7th Edition of the Uganda Hip Hop Awards commonly known as UG Hip Hop Awards. Like every other year when this award night happens, there’s always lost to say, prior and even after.

The night that was this year mainly powered by Nile Breweries Club Pilsener, Mountain Dew, Hennesy and with a colourful stage and production by Fenon Records.

For the second time this year, NuveySHAWN was nominated for Media Personality of the year but did not win it.

The night had some surprise wins for instance the two time winning rapper Timence was least expect to bag two awards. Flex D’Paper won Album of the Year and The Mith took the Song of the Year Award. Lyricist of year was The Homie for his “Diet Coke” freestyle which received criticism from AJO who was equally nominated with the song “Regicide” – to some it was a given contender.

Babaluku upon receiving his Lifetime achiever honorary award, noted how Hip Hop in Uganda has grown regarless of what people say “that it is dead”. Appreciated the fact that companies now sort of invest in things like the Awards because when “we started there were no sponsors.”

Afew Good Friends were equally recognized for their work, using hip hop to create cancer awareness.

The awards are 98% peoples choice and fans vote their favourites except for the Lifetime achiever and the Social Impact awards.

There were so many remarkable performances from Big Tril, Joyie 7 Star and stunning energy from rap groups BMG Music and TCF.

Here is a full list of nominees and winners of the night.

Album Of the Year
Wake – Mwotty
Flex D’Paper – Kampala Boy
Lagum the Rapper – RZR

Song of the Year
Flex D’Paper ft. Navio Fik Fameica and Mozelo Kidz – Cheptegei
The Mith – Welcome To UG Remix
Lagum The Rapper – Location
Byg Ben Sukuya ft. Apass – Blessed
Lil Ollo – Teli Kuzikiza Remix ft. Feffe Bussi, Navio, Da Agent, and Flex D’Paper

Female Rapper of the Year
King Missy
Tushi Polo
MC Yalla

Male Rapper of the Year
Flex D’Paper
Fik Fameica
The Mith

Central Rapper of the year
Lyrical G ft. Stone Age UG – With it With it
Lyrical Mycheal – Unmask
Zedmonk Ssabatontomi – Time Reveals Talents
Kracbone – FIRE FT. Santana Karma,Sliq Teq,Play01,Jhay Efekt,RomanJazzy & LS Andre
Lxndxn Gee – Big Moves
Feffe Bussi – Gamba Chwii

Northern Rapper of The Year
Ecee – Saik
Toobi Smolz – Bed Mega
Judas rapknowledge Da Akbar – Mung wa
Tworthy Wyler – Legendary
Timcence – Unthinkable

Hell B – Real Friends

Western Rapper of the Year
Crazie wispa – Tukahwaamu
Momo Mc – Tekaho karadio
P.Y.T – Break the cycle
Mugabi Byenkya – Philomena’s Voicemail #2
Eshata Lookhassle – Kiga flow

Eastern Rapper of the year
Triggah – Come Over
Mamre Snares -Engarasi ijo
Sparo UG – King Of The Streets
Lxndxn Gee (London Gee) – Drake Mode
AJ Stylz – That’s who we are
BMG Music – Inside voice

Collaboration of the Year
Flex D’paper ft. Navio Fik Fameica And Mozelo Kidz – Cheptegei
Play01 – Zinge ft. Adrenalyn Muzik
Enjiri Ku Street – Entikko ft. Ray MC, St. Ronnie, Chillz Kabejja, Still Breezy
Lukas Blacc ft. Likkle Bangi & Lagum The Rapper – One Thing
Naxa – Regular day ft. Mal X
The Mith ft Giovani Kiyingi, Ebrahim Soul’O & Agami Tonny – Welcome To UG Renix
Matt Travers ft Akeine – Over the Moon
MTN cypher ft. Ibrahim Solo, Triggah, King Missy, MuTownoh and Matt Travvers – Bikaye
Blixxack and Tucker HD – Dotted Lines and Commas

Inspirational song of the year
Enjiri Ku Street – Entikko ft. Ray MC, St. Ronnie, Chillz Kabejja, Still Breezy
Lyrical G – Thank You Father
207 – Taasa Omuwala
Mamre Snares – Street hope
Triggah – Uganda
Waade FT Sammie Smalls- Let It Go
Ronny Rymez – Ghetto Mentality

Lyricist of the year
MooTowNoh – Pound or Shilling (PoS)
The Hommie – Diet Coke Cover
AJO UG – Regicide
Joyie7star – Mwanyizabala

African Act of the Year
Femi One
Nasty C
Khaligragh Jones
Rosa Ree
Casspper Nyovest

Sweet 16 (Verse of the Year)
MooTowNoh – Pound or Shilling (PoS)
Tucker HD – Flex ( By Wake ft. Mal-X Tucker HD & Flex D’Paper)
The Hommie – Diet Coke Cover
207 ft. Stayput and L3vo – We Move On
Timcence – Quit that game
St Maxi Mayne – Skilibeng
Zedmonk Ssabatontomi – Amazima Agakaawa

Video Of the Year
Lagum The Rapper – Some Way
Naxa – Awoo
The Mith – Welcome To Ug Remix
Tucker HD – Mind Games
Fakher – Whole squad

Mixtape of The year
Mugabi Byenkya – Songs For Wo(Men) 2
Starking Boycrak – Sick Trip
Ghost Lord – Ghost In The Machine

Producer of the Year
Mio Made

Rap Fusion of the Year
Wake – Muvule
Flex D’Paper ft. Apass – Not My Friends
Naxa – Milolo
Lukas Blacc ft Kohen Jaycee – Byange
Bero – Colors Ft The Mith

Rookie of the year
Matt Travers
Jungle City
Kizzy Rulez
Lxndxn Gee
Mesh Wanda

DJ of the year
Deejay crim
Dj kiro spliff
DJ Victor256
Neptunez dj
Slaughter Elly

Media Personality of the Year
Timothy CODE
Frank Ntambi
Still Breezy
MC Ollo

Your thoughts?

**Courtesy photos Used**

About Author


NUVEYLIVE is an Independent media platform and we would like your support

How to support NUVEYLIVE



Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave Comment Below:

Discover more from NUVEYLIVE

Subscribe now to join the Community and keep up with the latest direct to you inbox

Continue Reading